A Week of Soreness: Starting CrossFit!

twt

Wow, am I sore this week! I started exercising with an awesome new personal trainer a couple of days ago, and she is helping me begin CrossFit Training, a new type of workout where you do several different, high-intensity exercises throughout one workout session. With CrossFit, I’m doing tons of things I’ve never done before. For example, I am currently working on a modified pull-up, where I use two rings to pull myself up rather than the bar that is typically used. We’re building up to a regular pull-up! I am also working on getting better at walking up the stairs. My quads and hamstrings are pretty weak right now, and I am also trying to lose some weight, so we’re really working on strengthening my whole body.

My trainer is also helping me start learning how to practice CrossFit in the pool. My balance is a lot better in the pool, and working out in the water puts much less tension and strain on my muscles, so this type of workout typically leaves me far less sore. In the pool, we work on walking up and down stairs, throw a weighted ball back and forth, and even try to run!

As far as I know, there are not a ton of disabled people who have taken up CrossFit yet, though I have seen some YouTube videos of other people with Cerebral Palsy using this type of training to exercise. It is definitely an intense workout, but, if I can do it, so can you! Once I get really good at CrossFit, my trainer and I are planning to make a YouTube exercise video for others to follow!

In addition to my new workout, I am also trying a new diet! Five days ago, I began the Paleo Diet, during which you eat a lot of protein and very few sugars or carbs. (Fortunately, I get one “cheat meal” each week, when I can eat whatever I want!) It seems to be working really well so far, and I plan to stick with it for as long as I can while I work towards becoming stronger and thinner.

Have you tried CrossFit yet? Feel free to share any tips that have worked for you!

Need more Tiffany? Like her page on Facebook for more updates!

2 comments on “A Week of Soreness: Starting CrossFit!

  1. Linda says:

    Alright Tiffany! Good luck and keep your eye on the results. ;>

  2. Jessica Noble says:

    Andria is great. I loved working out with her! Crossfit will definitely help you build the skill you need for any workout you will do. I still use it all the time, even though I have left the Crossfit arena. Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment