A Close Up on Kayla B.

What activities do you enjoy most?

Kayla enjoying a baseball game with friends and mascot Finley!

Kayla at Relay for Life, her first event as New Jersey Miss Amazing Pre-Teen 2013!

Some of my favorite activities are spending time with my dog, doing community service (including helping animals in need), listening to music, writing, and doing crafts and karate. I also enjoy watching movies, TV, and baseball and participating in Girl Scouts and my social group, Fantastic Friends.

What are your strengths?

My strengths are helping people and animals in need, remembering lines from TV shows, music, and movies, writing, making PowerPoint presentations, and researching. I am great at being a very hard worker, overcoming challenges, and being a good friend and role model for others.

What have been your challenges?

Some of the challenges I have faced are not feeling accepted by adults and my peers and overcoming the fear of being judged by others. Due to being bullied, I have struggled with low self-esteem and building confidence. I have also faced depression and struggle with daily medical issues that have taken away a lot of my childhood. Another challenge was losing a dog that I was very close to last year, along with losing two other pets.

Of what accomplishments are you most proud?

I am very proud of keeping positive, gaining self-esteem and trust, and overcoming obstacles in my life, such as overcoming my fear of flying by taking my first plane ride to Nebraska for Nationals after winning the title of New Jersey Miss Amazing Pre-Teen 2013! At Nationals, I met some wonderful new friends!

What are your ambitions?

I want to continue spreading acceptance and teaching others that anything is possible with hard work and dedication and that, in life, we are all unique. I also want to continue working with people and animals through my community service. After graduating, my goal is to go to college to work with children, animals, or those with disabilities or to work in the health-care field or the police field.

Thank you to Kayla’s loving mother, JoAnn, for helping Kayla to articulate and type her responses!

Leave a comment